Oh, I saw it through, all right.

November 28, 2006 at 7:23 pm (Bloom Status: Upward)

see-through

Splrrsshh! I resurface!

Oh my God, you guys. (We had a stage manager briefly back with the old sketch comedy group I used to work with who began practically every sentence with “Oh my God, you guys”. Only really fast. “Ohmygodyouguys.” Everything on God’s green earth warranted this opener for him. “Oh-my-god-you-guys-I’m-eating-a-pancake.”)

But really, for real, OH MY GOD YOU GUYS. I have done it. I wrote that novel. Or I wrote most of a first draft of a novel. Or, who knows, maybe it’s HALF of a first draft of a novel! But I made it to 50,044 words and the framework is all there. It’s just plugging in holes and then rewriting the shit out of it.

It’s got a working title. See-Through. It’s about a woman who lives through a very scary earthquake, suffers some serious losses and then travels around trying out various m.o.’s for handling the aftermath – hedonism and spiritual seeking, mostly. And I like it! Not the writing itself so much, though I do in lots of places. I mean, it’s some hasty, whizzy, craphappy writing for the most part. But I like the idea, I like the main character, and I’ve been enjoying living vicariously through her. It’s fun, writing a novel! It’s like watching a movie reeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeelly slowwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwly. A movie that needs a serious editor. Thelma Schoonmaker, I’m looking at you, sister*.

*She is the only film editor I’ve ever heard of. Other editors may be like, that hack!

People, thank you for your encouraging words. It’s been most appreciated! I’ll tell you more about what it was like later. Now I’m going to go watch some stupid television and maybe – if Finn permits – get a good night’s sleep!

P.S. I’ve lost 18 pounds, too! Whatthe-! Woo! That unwritten novel weighed a lot!

nano winner

Bloom Status: UPWARD. Freakin’ VERTICAL.

4 Comments

  1. la Ketch said,

    bloomerific. it’s bloomtastic. i can not wait to read that novel. the story is very intriguing.

  2. Heidi said,

    This is so inspiring! I have to admit I clicked on the little award on your other blog because in my heart I believed it would take me right to your novel. I wanna read your novel! I canna wait.

  3. Shaftway said,

    Snap! Congratulations and way to go! Can’t wait to see you sometime soon.
    mmmmmm-aaah (that’s the sound of me kissin you a big ole kiss!)

  4. Eve said,

    Woah! You dreamed it, and you DID it. Hot dog and god DAMN.
    I am so stinking impressed and thrilled for you!
    And inspired, and even a bit jealous. But mostly thrilled!
    Will we loyal fans get to read it? Puh-leeeeeeeeeeeze????

Leave a Reply

